cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Complete beginner in Mathcad - advice wanted

cdownie
1-Newbie

Complete beginner in Mathcad - advice wanted

Hi all,

This is my first post on the forums and I wanted to ask a general question on gaining proficiency in Mathcad.

In a nutshell, I am an experienced Project Engineer by profession (mainly mechanical & structural bias) but in order to widen my skill set, I have recently been training part-time in Finite Element Analysis, which I enjoyed immensely. To complement this, I asked my colleagues which packages would best complement my new skills in FEA and ANSYS software and Mathcad was one which came highly recommended.

With all of this in mind, I wanted to ask if any of you can offer advice and hopefully point me in the right direction (ie. training courses, PDFs available online) so that I can work on Mathcad from the ground up. I am completely self-financed and so I am looking to do this on a tight budget, but I am motivated and can devote more than enough time to making this happen. Thanks in advance for any input.

Best regards,

- Chris

5 REPLIES 5
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:cdownie)

Have a look at this link: Finite element method with methcad turorial

It gives some pointers to FE under Mathcad.

Stuart

Another useful topic and a few links:

1. Theme "Ansys and Mathcad" on forum: Re: Ansys and Mathcad

2. Theme "FEM calculations on mathcad" on forum: FEM calculations on mathcad

3. Additional material "FEM engine, a Poisson solver": DEA-CCAT: finelem_engine, a Poisson solver

4. Additional material "Advanced Finite Elements Analysis" (include Mathcad exmaples): The University of Maine - Mechanical Engineering - MEE 646 – Advanced Finite Elements Analysis

Chris,