cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Connecting MathCAD to an external database and a web app

dkuttikrishnan
1-Newbie

Connecting MathCAD to an external database and a web app

I am a computer science student at the University of Aberdeen and I'm working on a project in partnership with Chevron in Model Code Design Tool. Its used to design pipelines in the oil and gas industry. Since my background is in pure computer science, I've never had a chance to use MathCAD before and my knowledge in this software is very minimal.

In my project, I'm supposed to make a web app, based on HTML and PHP, and a database (possibly MySQL) and connect it with MathCAD for the calculation part. The basic idea is that a user can input new data through the web app, storing it in the database and when they need to process it, MathCAD should come into action. I have made a working front end and back end, but I'm not sure on how to connect MathCAD with the database. If its not possible, will it be possible to connect it with an Excel spreadsheet (to be used in the place of a database) and then access it? Can anyone guide me through this process? I am a total newbie in this software.

Thanks in advance!

8 REPLIES 8

Hi Deepak.

First, you must to specified the mathcad version. There are two: MC15 and Prime, last version, 3. Mathcad Prime goes to have a new version 4, with some of the mathcad 15 functionalities, but mathcad 15 is the last version: there are no chance for a mathcad 16. That's not a good new for a new project if it goes to be based in mathcad 15.