cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

Creating a drop down list.

yoohooos
11-Garnet

Creating a drop down list.

What I'm trying to do is, I have a data for aluminum properties(shown below) where I want to be able to input/select alloy type, temper, and product for that alloy. Then I would like to be able to get the properties of that selected metal. This topic (their Mathcad looks very different from mine, idk why) have asked the same thing that I want(although, I have 3 inputs, while this topic has only one input) but the problem is that couldn't follow the steps in there and am completely lost.

I'm very new to Mathcad and my Mathcad doesn't have any add-on(if that's needed), please let know what I need to do if I have to.

Thank you very much!

Annotation 2020-05-13 103017.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:yoohooos)

Certainly you may. Here's an example:

LucMeekes_0-1589453625668.png

Of course you can make the list a simple 2D matrix, which would simplify the adressing to just one level, but it would require that you duplicate your types and other selection criteria throughout.

Here's an example, with a function that extracts data based on three input parameters:

LucMeekes_0-1589492133486.png

But, an actual 'drop-down-list' as shown in the post you referred to, is not possible in Prime. You must realise that Prime is a new(er) development than Mathcad. It looks differently (as you saw), it behaves differently, and it has a different feature set...

But if you have a license for (any version of) Prime, that very same license file can also be used to install (on the same PC) and use Mathcad 15 up to its full feature set.

Success!

Luc

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
LucMeekes