cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Differential Models

OscarJ.
1-Newbie

Differential Models

Good morning,

I am reading an excellent book regarding differential models: "Differential Models: An Introduction with MathCad" (english version, by Alexander Solodov and Valery Ochkov). Even if I have been working with MathCad for several years and I have developped a good undesrtanding of programing and other software capabilities, I have no experience with differential models and that's why I start practicing with all the examples I found in this book.

The question: I having some troubles with one of the examples, the movement of water drop in air by gravity and resistance force. I tried to follow, step by step, all the calculation shown in the book, but for some reason I didn't get the same answer. I would appreciate if someone can take a look at it an point me out what I am doing wrong.

I am including whit the worksheet a few images of the example, so you can compare the original information provided.

Thanks a lot,

Lij.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

You had setup the range variable for tau with 0.01 .. tau.end+0.1

That way you have a (far too large) step width of 1 - in fact you just graph two points and thats why you get a straight line. In the book you misinterpreted the comma as dot and overlooked the dot.

The correct range for tau given in the book is 0, 0.1 .. tau.end+0.1 (a step width of 0.1)

P.S.: I don't know the book but I wonder if the publisher doesn't offer a download link for all the files used in the book. At least thats quite common nowadays and would make sense.