cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Difficulty Rearranging Equation

akrisciunas
1-Newbie

Difficulty Rearranging Equation

Hello there,

I'm an engineer by trade and am doing a bit of light theoretical work. I have limited experience using MathCAD for anything other than basic calculation sheets.

I have two equations that I've defined symbolically, and I have defined all variables and Boolean relationship. I'm attempting to use the "given": ___ "find":____ functions but am not having much success.

Attached is the sheet I'm using. Essentially I've defined CrA and CrB algebraically. I would like to solve for "L" symbolically such that CrA=CrB.

Intuitively I feel that mathcad should be able to crunch out some sort of relationship that I can later simplify.

Any suggestions from the more experienced users would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Andrew
11 REPLIES 11

Anything useful in there ?
in Mathcad 11 that you should read .
If you get the error message "singular matrix",
uncheck the box in the work sheet options
"Use strict singularity checking for matrices".

jmG

We must use not := but = (boolean equal) operator after the Given key word!

Val
http://twt.mpei.ac.ru/ochkov/v_ochkov.htm

Thanks for the replies guys. Still having difficulty. I managed to simplify the equation I want to rearrange - see jpeg.

I plotted both functions using dummy values and they do indeed intersect, so I'm unsure why MathCAD cannot find a solution.

See attached jpegs

On 4/12/2010 12:56:51 AM, akrisciunas wrote:
>Thanks for the replies guys.
>Still having difficulty. I
>managed to simplify the
>equation I want to rearrange -
>see jpeg.
>
>I plotted both functions using
>dummy values and they do
>indeed intersect, so I'm