cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Entering one matrix(3x3) into another larger matrix(21x21)

aksummer
4-Participant

Entering one matrix(3x3) into another larger matrix(21x21)

Hello,

Say I have a matrix called Y that is (21x21)  and I have matrix A that is (3x3). I would like to have matrix A placed in Y starting at Y1,1 so that 

Y11=A11

Y12= A12

Y13=A13

Y21=A21

Y22=A22

Y23=A23

Y31=A31

Y32=A32

Y33=A33

I am new to using mathcad, thanks for the help.

7 REPLIES 7

Hi,

Prime 4 and MathCad implementation

Arrays start index is 0 by default, to establish Y as a 21x21 matrix, set the last element to zero.

Enter an arbitrary A matrix.

Set up two range variables to operate over the matrices.

Using the range variables enter A into Y at correct location.

example...

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:aksummer)

I assume you want 1,1 to be the origin of the array, in which case you should be aware that in Mathcad the default origin is 0,0. You can chnage it to 1,1 though.

Given that, you can do what you ask using a couple of range variables:

Embedded matrix.png

if that does not solve your problem, then we need more infomation about what you wish to do.

aksummer
4-Participant
(To:RichardJ)

and if you were to place the A matrix in the middle of your 7x7?

LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:aksummer)

Then, using Richard's method, you would write the expression ZAn+2,m+2:=An,m

Success!
Luc

Personally I would prefer using a small utility routine to do the job. Especially if you need to do it more than once and for different insert positions.