cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Fit double exponencial

M_U
9-Granite
9-Granite

Fit double exponencial

Hello,

I want to set a function of type y = A1 + A2 * exp (-X / A3) + A4 * exp (-X / A4) to my data. I need to find the values ​​of Ai. I tried to use the genfit function and an error occurred. I saw in the forum that there are several tips, but I am a beginner in Mathcad, and would like some help. Attached follows the data I would like to perform my function.

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Werner_E
24-Ruby V
(To:M_U)

> I tried to use the genfit function and an error occurred.

So why don't you attach your Mathcad sheet and show the error.

genfit and a solve block with minerr usually come up with the very same result.

Unfortunately they rely heavily on good guess values and may react quite sensible to changes of the guesses. This may be the reason for genfit failing in your try.

EDIT: I gave it a try, too, but Fred was faster.

The system is VERY sensible with respect to the guess values and the difference in the resulting values for Ai when changing the guesses are quite big.

Nevertheless I wonder why with Freds sheet I get values so much different from mine even when using the very same guesses!?

B.png

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
ValeryOchkov
24-Ruby IV

The best tool for this problem is the MinErr function!

Fred_Kohlhepp
23-Emerald I

genfit applied

fit.png

… and than a line!

Valery, that data sure could be fitted in many quite different ways (some shown in the screenshots below).

But I guess that ulisses has good reasons to choose exactly the type of function he posted.

B1.pngB2.png