cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Help for iteration

NandaV
7-Bedrock

Help for iteration

Hey guys,

I'm new in Mathcad and I'm doing my thesis now. I have some trouble finding how to do iteration in Mathcad.

So in my file, I have a reactor of 250 m. And I want to know how the concentration changes.

But, I want the simulation to run for >1 cycle. Which means I have to define a way to make the Cout (concentration out) from previous cycle, as a value for the Cin(2) concentration in of the next cycle. These are for both liquid and gas concentration.

So in summary I want to make a loop of :

COlin (x+1) = COlout (x)

COgin (x+1) = COgout (x) + COgin (x)

Help guys 😞

Thank you in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@NandaV wrote:

I mean now I have the for loop cycle after the 1st cycle derivation.

No. I just left an example of a single cycle so you could see that changing the Odesolve block to a function didn't alter the calculation.  In the attached I've removed this!

@NandaV wrote:

Also, isn't now the system taking the value from previous x point, so the COlin (x) = COlout (X-1) instead of per cycle? 

No. Each cycle covers all values of x before updating the inlet values for the next cycle.  This is because all values of x are considered by the Odesolve function which is called just once per cycle.

Alan

View solution in original post

28 REPLIES 28
Fred_Kohlhepp
23-Emerald I
(To:NandaV)

What you have is two coupled first order differential equations.  Your "Given" block is missing its closure.

Given needs to be a closed block, in your case with Odesolve.  Review help on solving differential equations--there should be an example that is directly applicable.

Hey Fred,

Thanks for your reply. What do you mean by closed solve block?