cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Help needed to automatic select a value for solve block?

ptc-5342779
1-Newbie

Help needed to automatic select a value for solve block?

Hi,

I am very new to Mathcad. I have a solve block for a quadratic equation. So i have 2 roots, and i want it to be automatic select to be one of it.

it somehow said the variable is undefined. Really appreciate if someone can help me out. Thanks.

1.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi Werner,

Now i finally get some idea on assigning the solve solution to vTH, but when i try to use the assume method, it said its illegal assume constraint.

The Given and Find method is working just fine, but i don't want to use a guess value, i want it to find the one root that fit within v0<vTH<v1 directly.

The assume method seems great if it can work out.

Attached with my worksheet.

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19

To the left of ln(sigma1/sigma0) put VTH:= (i.e. colon equals) this will assign the result to VTH. You can select the appropriate solution using VTH[0 or VTH[1 as required.

Note: It is better to upload a worksheet rather than just an image (use the advanced editor to do this - top right of edit box)

Alan

Hi Alan,

But once i change the = to := , it's not applicable to use solve-> anymore, I attached my mathcad as below.

Another thing for the selection of vTH, at first i thought like a matrix vector, so i put like vTH0 and vTH1 but it doesn't work like a matrix in solve block.

Thanks.

Look if some of th attched helps. I can't tell as yout sheet won't work withoud the referenced data file.

Hi Werner,