cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

How to solve this pipe flow problem

FDS
12-Amethyst
12-Amethyst

How to solve this pipe flow problem

I try to solve a pipeflow problem but I have problems in doing so as I have no experience in this type of problem. In the first part of the sheet you will find the known variables. In the second part I try to calculate the different pressures. However, I have problems in setting up the equations. Would anyone be so kind to help me with this? The file is made with MC15

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Werner_E
24-Ruby V
(To:FDS)

1) V1, V2 need to be defined

2) All equations except the top 4 should be normal assignment above the solve block.h.exit:=..., etc.

3) You should solve for P1, P2, P3 AND P4 as well (4 equations, 4 variables to solve for)

4) You need guess values for P1 .. P4, not for other variables.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
Werner_E
24-Ruby V

1) V1, V2 need to be defined

2) All equations except the top 4 should be normal assignment above the solve block.h.exit:=..., etc.

3) You should solve for P1, P2, P3 AND P4 as well (4 equations, 4 variables to solve for)

4) You need guess values for P1 .. P4, not for other variables.

FDS
12-Amethyst
12-Amethyst
(To:Werner_E)

Thank you Werner that solved the issue

FDS
12-Amethyst
12-Amethyst

I have one additional question. How could I calculate "theoretical" V when forcing P1 to be 0 mmHg and by changing Pc? For clarity I have put both in purple. Sorry, for these obvious questions.

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member

P.1 is not being passed to your solve block as zero, it is -66kPa.

FDS
12-Amethyst
12-Amethyst
(To:MikeArmstrong)

Mike, thanks for your reply but even if I change P1 in the solve block by 0 mmHg it will not solve.