cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

How to use a result in my next equation? (new to MathCAD)

A.DelNegro
4-Participant

How to use a result in my next equation? (new to MathCAD)

I'm new to MathCAD and do find it much nicer than excel when it comes to handleing units. My question is...

If I create a function, and then use that function to determine a value, how can I then use this value in a following calculation without having to insert the full funtion into my next one. i.e.

screen_capture-20110718-084305.jpg

27 REPLIES 27
MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:A.DelNegro)

Something like below?

Clipboard01.jpg

Mike

An alternative approach.

Clipboard01.jpg

Mike

I was reposting while you added this. I think this would work. Thanx

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member

Anthony DelNegro wrote:

I was reposting while you added this. I think this would work. Thanx

No problem at all.

Mike

Somthing like that... I'm aware that you can embed the finction in like that, I guess I'm still thinking with my Excel hat on. The issue with embeding it like that is that when you string together 4 or 5 calculations in a chain, you can get a huge equation at the end. I guess what I'm looking for is a way for it to act more like Excel. More like below.... If I assign an X and Y value, I can just use it in the function. In this case, if I want to change the value of x or y, then the answer will change as well. If I could somehow assign the value of "f" to be the answer on line 4, then I could use it in later calculations and it would correct itself if I were to change x or y.

screen_capture-20110718-090407.jpg

Try using the following (I know that the initial version of the example shown in Prime, but it does not matter):

Example.JPG