cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

I need to extract one row of a matrix

bbond
12-Amethyst

I need to extract one row of a matrix

Hello,

I have a matrix of steel shapes and the corresponding section properties.

Currently for each section property I am using a vlookup function.  This requires I type in the shape of the beam inside each command every time.  There has to be a way to combine a vlookup and extract an entire row based on that lookup item.  I assume I could then put the extracted items into a single column matrix and have each passed into the variables.  This would allow me to only type the shape into a single lookup function.  I'm new to Mathcad so I'm probably overlooking the obvious, but I have searched for a solution and can't find one.  Anyone know of a way to do what I am trying to do?

.matrix.png

13 REPLIES 13
MJG
18-Opal
18-Opal
(To:bbond)

Use "match" to obtain the row index for specified shape.  Then, use the matrix row function to extract it.

ValeryOchkov
24-Ruby IV
(To:MJG)

MJG
18-Opal
18-Opal

Something like this:

Here's one way to then extract each of the individual variables with their units:

StuartBruff
23-Emerald II

Mark Gase wrote:

Something like this:

This is the kind of situation where I'd almost certainly write a function to simplify things and make the worksheet easier to read (and, hopefully, debug / maintain).

In Prime, you'd replace the clumsy transpose/column-operator with just a row-operator (Mathcad 15 has no row operator and I don't have Prime available).