cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Inverse function

athurin
4-Participant

Inverse function

Hi,

I am studying a power converter, who is a combination of well know topologies, but that uses fuzzy logic for its control. The consequence of the combination of toppologies + fuzzy logic causes the input to output voltage ratio to be not trival, and defined differently depending on the operating point. Here is a sheet with a simplified expression of my input to output voltage ratio ( z(d) ) (it is more complicated than that in the application, as the transition between x(d) and y(d) is more ... fuzzy).

To simplify the problem, I can make the function continuous, derivable and bijective (athough it will probably not be the case in the final application).

Having defined the input to output voltage ratio, I want to analyse the stress on my components in certain use cases, meaning for a few (input voltage, output voltage) combination. Which means that I would like to find the inverse function of my arbitrarily-defined ratio (here, I want to find rev(z) such that rev(z) = d). And I have absolutely no idea how to do that with Mathcad.

Note that a symbolic expression of rev(z) would be nice, but would would happily settle for a numerical solving of the problem.

Anyone has a idea on how to do that ?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mathcad won't be able to provide a symbolic solution because it cannot decide on the different branches of min, max or an if statement with a variable, symbolic argument