cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Iterative / recursive program with multiple output ?

sd_gaertner
1-Newbie

Iterative / recursive program with multiple output ?

Hello,

I’m quite new to Mathcad and Mathcad Prime. I already looked for a solution in this forum and in the help files, but did not find anything suitable. Here’s my problem:

I defined a function f_next_s: Input s_n (current) -> Output s_n+1 (next).

function1.JPG

Now I want to repeat this procedure n times, starting with s_1(given):

Step INPUT (s_cur) OUTPUT (s_pre)

1 s_1 s_2

2 s_2 s_3

3 s_3 …

… … …

n s_n s_n+1

AND

I want to store the values of s_1, s_2, … s_n+1 so that I can go on calculating with them.

Here is what I tried, but it doesn't work (it only gives out the first result, which is s_2):

function2.JPG

Here ( http://communities.ptc.com/message/157701#157701 ) it says I should write the values in an array. But I can’t figure out how this works…

Can you please help me?

Best regards

Sebastian

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I don't have Prime in front of me right now, but I think the answer to your problem is that you're not making an array in your program. I've enclosed a short file in version 14 that illustrates.

I hope this helps.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:sd_gaertner)

Can you upload the worksheet?

Mike

I thought it mitght be too confusing. But here it is.

There problem is situated at sheet 5 and 6.

Best regards

Sebastian

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member

I'm confused. The program you showed in your first post is not the same in your worksheet