cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

License Path Issue

ptc-4912114
1-Newbie

License Path Issue

Hi, I'm a student and am unable to locate the Mathcad Prime license required to dual authorize the Mathcad 15 program. Per PTC instructions this file is "MathcadPrimeLicense.dat" in "C:\ProgramData\PTC\Mathcad Prime\license\directory" and similarly in forum discussions has been listed as "C:\ProgramData\PTC\Mathcad Prime\license\MathcadLicense.dat". Presently, althought I have successfully licensed Mathcad Prime, there is no "*license.dat" file that I can locate on my computer and the only files under the "C:\ProgramData\PTC..." directory are "Windchill sharepoint products" and 'PTC places NamespaceShellExtension". All other files reside directly under the "C:\ProgramData\Mathcad..." directory, but, nowhere can I find the license file.

I purchased an HP Laptop with Windows 8 just yesterday (subsequently upgraded to the Win8 "pro" version) specifically to run Mathcad for a class. I have homework due soon, so, any help I can get in getting Mathcad 15 running would be most appreciated.

Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9

In Mathcad Prime2 click on the yellow M in the upper left corner, chose Mathcad options and then go on tab license. You should see what kind of license you own and there is a field "file" and you should see the path to your license file there.

Concerning your homework - Mathcad 15 works 30 days without license in evaluation mode which is not restricted. Rumour has it that you even can have a second 30-day period before final game over, but I never have tried, so it may be a myth.