cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Line Ampacity Calculations

ptc-4889554
1-Newbie

Line Ampacity Calculations

Hello all,

I'm an undergradute EE student who is currently working for a small engineering consultant firm and I've been asked by my boss to create two MATHCAD programs to calculate and graph the ampacity of various conductors. Two variants because one is to be done in "english" units (imperial), and the other in SI units.

So far I've been working off the IEEE Std 738-2006 standard, and have began programming various equations into MATHCAD. While doing so I've come across a few errors that I can't seem to figure out, and I am currently looking for some help in correcting them.

Please see the figure attached for a image of what my program currently consists of. The errors in the blue boxes are solely a consequence of the error in the red box.(From what I can tell) What I can't figure out is why the error in the red box is happening, and how to correct it. For the error in the red box, MATHCAD is telling me the value of Vw must be a scalar. Why is that? How do I fix this?

NOTE: I am currently using MATHCAD 14

I've also attached my most up to date version of the program thus far.

I look forward to any advice/suggestions/comments you guys have.

Thanks again!

17 REPLIES 17

Look carefully at your definition of Qc2. You have defined Vw as a function of Ta there, when it should just be a scalar:

Qc2.PNG

Alan

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:ptc-4889554)

The errors in the blue boxes are solely a consequence of the error in the red box.(From what I can tell)