cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Lusk_Combined Aggregate Grading.mcdx

FredLusk
12-Amethyst

Lusk_Combined Aggregate Grading.mcdx

UPDATE 2014-01-14:  The attached .zip file now contains a Mathcad Prime 3.0 worksheet (.mcdx) and—for those of you who are still using earlier verisions of Mathcad—an Adobe Acrobat printout (.pdf) of the worksheet so can see how it is put together.

========================

The purpose of this worksheet is to calculate the combined aggregate gradation after blending (combining) two or more different aggregates.  Combining aggregates is required when an aggregate gradation is specified that is different than the aggregate supplier's stock gradations.  In my work as a consulting civil engineer, I most often see combined aggregate gradations when I review contractor submittals for concrete mix designs, aggregate base, and miscellaneous engineered aggregates.

This worksheet contains two examples.  The first example is for a concrete mix design that I reviewed a few years ago and contains two aggregates that were combined to make the coarse aggregate.  As part of reviewing the submittal, I created an Excel spreadsheet to check the aggregate supplier's calculation for the combined aggregate gradation and that spreadsheet is the basis for this worksheet.  The second example is from a sample calculation I found on the internet that combines five aggregates, three gravels and two sands.

The combined aggregate gradation algorithm proceeds as follows: