cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

MathCAD Units Help

ptc-4992678
1-Newbie

MathCAD Units Help

I am using MathCAD Prime 2.0 for design calculations for a building I am engineering. I am fairly new to MathCAD, only learning a little about it in college. However, I am running into a units issue when calculating pounds per linear foot (lb/ft) to just pounds (a point load). I am taking 480 PLF * 4 ft, the feet should cancel out and you are left with just pounds. MathCAD is spitting out a lb*f, like the units for a moment. When I go to change the units to just pounds then it changes my units to (ft/s^2)*lb? Please explain to me what is going wrong here. See below for a screen shot:math+cad+question.jpg

Please note that the answer is correct, 1920 pounds is the right answer. Just the wrong units.

Thank you in advance,

Jon Recknagel | Structural Designer

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I just answered my own question. A "lbf"= a pound force. It seems like they could have just left it at "lb" we are all aware that pounds is a force. Just my opinon I guess. Thanks anyway.

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20

I just answered my own question. A "lbf"= a pound force. It seems like they could have just left it at "lb" we are all aware that pounds is a force. Just my opinon I guess. Thanks anyway.

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:ptc-4992678)

It seems like they could have just left it at "lb" we are all aware that pounds is a force.

The pound is a unit of mass, not force.

I would disagree....Pounds (lb) is not a mass. Pounds is a force. F=mg, due to gravity.

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite

What unit are you using for m?