cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Mathcad Symbolic Solution includes "function"?

snorville
1-Newbie

Mathcad Symbolic Solution includes "function"?

I'm a student using Mathcad 14 to perform symbolic calculations for stability analysis problems. Basically, I'm am taking multiple derivatives of multivariable symbolic functions. When I evaluate symbolically, I find a term in the solution 'function'. I don't know what this means or what 'function' it may be replacing. Have I accidentally changed a sheet setting or something?

Capture.PNG

It is very hard to find any help on this as "function" is included in tons of Mathcad help discussions.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

When including a function within a function be careful to include its arguments on the RHS of the definition- see attached.

Alan

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:snorville)

You could try posting a worksheet.

Mike

I highlighted the first instance of this problem.

When including a function within a function be careful to include its arguments on the RHS of the definition- see attached.

Alan

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:AlanStevens)

Nicely spotted Alan.

Actually the error message if you can call it that makes sense for once. Was the text 'function' in the equation indicating that there was a problem with function P directly?

If that would have been a numerical evaluation the error message would have called up a problem with the number of arguments wouldn't it?

Clipboard01.jpg

Mike