cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Mathcad links with Prode Physical Properties

HarveyHensley
3-Visitor

Mathcad links with Prode Physical Properties

I have some exciting news for chemical engineers.  The Prode Physical Properties (PPP) program and databank has been linked to Mathcad 15 via a dll.  Now, for a fairly reasonable price (about $400 US), you can have access to physical property data for 1635 components and over 200 functions to access data and set values in the databank and in streams, perform flashes and other process operations. 

PTC and I have been building the dll linking file for several months.  I purchased the basic version of PPP and the dll is built upon that platform.  The extended version contains some more VLE models and some more advanced process models. but I felt the basic version was the best option.  As an independent consultant, I needed a low cost access to a good databank that would provide the properties needed for vapor/liq and vapor/liq/liq equilibria for a large number of compounds.  The PPP system provides that and a bonus of the functions for stream and databank interactions.

Although engineers in large corporations have access to large, expensive physical property databases, they too may find this PPP/Mathcad combination to be an attractive option.  Mathcad is often used when modeling special problems that the process simulation packages can't handle.  With the addition of PPP, the Mathcad simulation can easily handle phase equilibria, both ideal and non-ideal.  In addition, properties such as heat capacity, viscosity and heat of formation are readily available within the program.  This saves time obtaining the required input for the simulation.