cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Mathcad version compatibility

MikeAustin
1-Newbie

Mathcad version compatibility

I have spent the last hour or two browsing the forum to find definitive answers to compatibility questions. I run Mathcad 11.2a and Mathcad 14 M035. I am happy with them both - and Mathcad 14 can read Mathcad 11 files. I have been with Mathcad since version 1 for Dos. From previous experience with Mathcad, I am loathe to ditch earlier versions before trying a new version - and I dislike the ribbons on Mathcad 15 and Office 2007 onwards!

I work as a subcontractor for a very large company who use Mathcad 14 (having previously used versions from 7 onwards). They have Mathcad 15 available but choose to stay with Mathcad 14. Other subcontractors are required to perform work in Mathcad using Excel components (i.e. Mathcad in Excel and Excel in Mathcad). There is a large collection of validated legacy analyses that are retained for structural justification.

New subcontractors are required to work with legacy analyses but cannot obtain the Mathcad versions for which these analyses (Mathcad or Mathcad in Excel) were originally validated. Furthermore, the integration of Mathcad and Excel changes with some Mathcad versions requiring re-programming.

Mathcad 15 is still available (if one purchases Prime 2). So the questions are, would a change from Mathcad 14 to Mathcad 15 cause compatibility problems when running within Excel or when using embedded Excel components, ? What is the earliest Mathcad version that Mathcad 15 can read? Are there any other restrictions that Mathcad 15 could bring?