cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Multiple (1000s) iterations of a worksheet

ptc-4677759
1-Newbie

Multiple (1000s) iterations of a worksheet

Hi Guys,

I'm new to MathCad and, like many, confronting the learning curve. I've inherited a model (~10pages) witten in M15 that spits out power consumption of my system for a given array of frequencies of input. I need to turn this into a recurrent calculation to see the power consumption over time. I've inserted a matlab script that calculates my inputs and it spits out a matrix of thousands of columns. I need to then calculate the power for each column and save it somewhere. All was dandy until I've found that loops can't incorporate references.

Any suggestions of how to structure this?

Many thanks in advance.

-Roger

12 REPLIES 12

In principal, it shouldn't be a problem for Mathcad to calculate functions of column, but ...

Could you explain in more detail what you mean by "can't incorporate references" and why that is a problem? Can you post an example of what you mean? How many rows does your matrix have?

Stuart

Make the calculation of power a function of frequency array: power(frequencyarray):=....

Then write a loop that calls this function, passing it each column of the matlab constructed matrix through each pass, along the lines of:

loop.PNG

p is then a vector of powers; one for each column of the Matlab matrix (assuming one value of power results from one column of the matrix).

Can you upload a simplified worksheet with just a few columns and a simplified power calculation so we can see exactly what your problem is?

Alan

Oops! In the function above, for 'rows' read 'cols'