cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Need help on ploting a 3-D graph

ptc-5065337
1-Newbie

Need help on ploting a 3-D graph

Hello

I am new to PTC community and MathCAD, really need some help from expert. I am trying to plot a 3D graph with derived formulae in MathCAD, and then

compare this graph with the graph I generated with Excel. But I am having troubles in getting it work..... A number of errors or warnings appeared in my

programme. Whoever will help me, please also point out where I did wrong so I know what to do next time.

Thanks in advance!

6 REPLIES 6

Hello & welcome to the forum.

First problem is the usual confusion between the text subscript "." which just gives a readable name and the array/vector/matrix subscript operator "[" which allows you to reference elements within the matrix.

so when you type F[a Mathcad expects that a will have an integer value to specify the a'th element of the vector F

Attached I have modified the first few equations to show.

The next problems are that you are using the variable d in your equations but it has not been assigned a value

and the equation for σ.h has an empty place holder ( the equation is incomplete).

Both of these mean that Mathcad will highlight the items to show the error as best it can.

Once you correct these , σ.h, H, & rb should calculate & the next problem area will appear as Mathcad continues through the worksheet.

Hope this helps

Regards

Andy

Hello Andy

Thanks for your warm welcome. I follow your instruction and luckily get a answer for stress utilisation, Su. But, there are still some issues:

1. I was able to plot a surface graph with defined variables, please look into the programme and offer me some advice.