cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Nested loops example - MSc Subsea Engineering Question

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member

Nested loops example - MSc Subsea Engineering Question

I have attached a worksheet for informational purposes. Recently a few people have been indicating that they are wanting to learn programming, so I thought it might be prudent to upload a worksheet that I have been working through.

It is a question from an MSc in Subsea Engineering which I am currently studying towards. It calculate the probability of a maximum wave occurring in a given time frame.

It clearly shows the use of nested loops which might help Mathcad 'newbies'.

Any feedback or questions welcome.

Mike

22 REPLIES 22

Shortened version in one program. Not as clear and unacceptable if produced for a calculation as a non-Mathcad user could not trace the program.

Mike

Might be clearer to separate the calculation of probabilities from the observed times - see attached. Note that in your worksheets you define Hs but don't subsequently use it!

Alan

Message was edited by: AlanStevens I realise that my worksheet doesn't meet your aim of showing newbies about programming nested loops, but the nice thing about Mathcad is that you can often go a long way without needing any exolicit programming structures.

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:AlanStevens)

Might be clearer to separate the calculation of probabilities from the observed times - see attached. Note that in your worksheets you define Hs but don't subsequently use it!

Sorry about that, Hs is used later in further calculations which where not included.