cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

New to Mathcad

ptc-5235240
1-Newbie

New to Mathcad

I am new to Mathcad and need a little help.

First, does anyone know what this means phi.JPGI understand it is some kind of function. The deltas are displacements.

Second, what is a good source for learning more about Mathcad?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:ptc-5235240)

Christopher Wright wrote:

First, does anyone know what this means phi.JPGI understand it is some kind of function. The deltas are displacements.

Can't really tell from the image, it looks simply like a user input formula. Can you upload the worksheet.

I would suggest going through the tutorials within Mathcad and asking any questions you have on here and you will do fine.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member

Can't really tell from the image, it looks simply like a user input formula. Can you upload the worksheet.

I would suggest going through the tutorials within Mathcad and asking any questions you have on here and you will do fine.

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member

A few worksheets to get you going.

We cannot say much from a small picture, but at least we can see that you are using Mathcad 15 or below and that you have View Regions turned on 😉

Give it a try - open your sheet, click on the Phi in your expression and press F1 - you will get help for the Heaviside function. Phi is Mathcad's implementation of the Heaviside Step function. That functions returns zero for negative values and +1 for positive values. There are different implementations as to what should happen if the argument is zero - Mathcad returns 0.5 in that case.