cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

New user, really need some help writing my first loop

Steve8
4-Participant

New user, really need some help writing my first loop

Hello, I am new to MathCAD and need some help writing a loop. I have done this in MATLAB before when I was in college, but it seems like MathCAD works a bit differently and I just can't figure it out.

I have two variables for which I am inputting to a starting value, say A:= 1.5 and Dp:=3. Then there are a few lines of equations that all use A and Dp, and eventually output a final value that I named Apercent. My goal is to have the program automatically increase the inputs A and Dp from their starting values until Apercent is at least 100.

My plan is to create a while loop that says "while Apercent is less than 100, A will increase by 1/16 at a time. But if I reach an iteration where increasing A no longer increases Apercent, stop increasing A and instead start increasing Dp by 1/16". But I can just not figure out how to write this in MathCAD. Can anyone please help me and show me the proper formatting?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:Steve8)

Your loop runs endlessly because:

It only stops when Apercent >= 100. So how does Apercent change during the loop...?

Just before the last statement in the While block, you assign Arep/Ar to Apercent. Within the while block you do NOT assign new values to Arep or Ar, which means that Apercent gets assigned the same value over and over again, and (apparently) that value is not over 100...Well, you do assign to Arep, namely A1+A2A3+A3a, but those values don't change in the program.

Some other remarks:

- Francesco is right, you shouldn't name the function the same as its internal variable. I renamed it to Result.