cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nonlinear system of equations in heat flow

Highlighted

Hi,
I am a student working on a problem to design a hand dryer (heater). I believe all of my equations are correct and complete, but I am having a difficult time solving a nonlinear system of 8 equations and 8 unknowns (bottom of sheet). If somebody could please provide some help or advice as to how to fix this, I would surely appreciate it as I've been trying for hours on both Mathcad and MATLAB and have been unsuccesful thusfar.

Thanks in advance,
Bob
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

According to the Mathcad error message, your immediate problem is that di is not defined. Poor as they are, the Mathcad error messages are vital and cannot be ignored.

You were careless with several subscripts and also had a poor initial guess for one parameter. See attached.

stv
Highlighted

This kind of work deserves a diagram, especially as it is a heat exchanger project and the matter is always traceability. You use "logmean", that is really from the blue for a non versed person. Pipe is "rigid circular conduit", "tube" is a thin wall. A2 is out of the blue also, what is 0.1016 ? Mathcad is idiotic enough showing symbolic result .123456789 instead of 0.123456789, that at least when you plug number, plug them right. For traceability, .123456789 DOES NOT pass ! Subscripts are so much confusing that their use should be very limited or at least near the end , then your solver has one of those gross mistake. First thing to do "This variable is not defined above", make all the constants "Courier New" blue, make all variables "Courier new" and click on each definition to see the expansion and often detect the error.