cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Normalize (remove leading zeros) and then truncate?

ptc-4451268
1-Newbie

Normalize (remove leading zeros) and then truncate?

Hello!

I am a student, and I am working on a homework problem that I can't quite solve. I need to:

"Write a subroutine or function which will truncate a variable X to D decimal places after normalization. For example:

D = 3, X=0.0069347

Should be returned as:

X = 0.00693

"

Can someone help me write a program to do this? I don't typically write programs in MathCAD, and i really don't know where to start.

PS: X can be any number, not just 0.0069347.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Whats the log of 0.004321 and what the log of 54321? Especially if you round up that log to the next highest integer using ceil(). Lets call the new value e. What do get if you divide your number by 10^e?

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

I don't typically write programs in MathCAD

I guess thats exactly what you are supposed to learn.

A starting sure would be to take the logarithm to the base of 10 of the number and reason, how this log (you may use ceil or floor on it) can help you you transform any number to 0.xyz. Then multiply by 10^D, use trunc and reverse the procedure.

Next steps would be to eal with negative numbers, numver zero and with people demanding 0 significant digits or even less.

Give it a try and if you encounter problems post your sheet here.

Thank you for the start! I will take a look and give it a try.

I am sorry, but I don't understand how taking the Log of 0.000xyz can help me get 0.xyz. Can you explain that to me?