cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Please help with while loop

dsaldivar
1-Newbie

Please help with while loop

I am new to programming in MathCad but have done plenty of while loops in other programs. I can't figure out what I am doing wrong here. Please help. I know the while loop converges because I can do it by hand in a few iterations.

Thank you for anyone who has a few minutes to take a look.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I am using Prime 3.0 and I get the division by zero error no matter if I recalc or rename t.

Its clearly a bug and I think we already had a thread about it quite some time ago.

As far as I recall Stuart and Luc are using Prime 3.1, so chances are that the bug is already fixed.

When you open a Prime file no recalculation is done but you see the result of the last calculation done before saving the file.

So when you open the file, you saw what Dustin saw in his older version of Mathcad.

Inside the while loop the global variable t.zu seems to be treated as a fresh local variable being zero:

Crazy enough, simply using/mentioning t.zu in any way before the loop cures the problem:

Turning the routine into a (dummy) function also works:

Given the answers of Stuart and Luc it really looks like its a bug present in Prime 3.0 (and below ?) which was fixed in Prime 3.1.

Werner

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:dsaldivar)

Dustin Saldivar wrote:

I am new to programming in MathCad but have done plenty of while loops in other programs. I can't figure out what I am doing wrong here. Please help. I know the while loop converges because I can do it by hand in a few iterations.

What problem are you having?