cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Plot out of symbolic calculation

Jip
2-Guest
2-Guest

Plot out of symbolic calculation

Hello Everyone, 

I am an electronics engineer who has just started with Mathcad v15. I work on a sheet which calculates total power dissipation in a power supply. I have many input variables which help me to get the desired information - total power dissipation (Ptot) and predicted efficiency (Eff). So far, the calculation sheet works well.

The struggle:

Now, I would like to vary some input parameters and see in a plot how total efficiency change. For example, I want a plot with Iout on the x-axis and Eff on the y-axis. I have already spent half a day by googling but could not come up with a solution. Could someone review the sheet and come with a proposal how to make a Eff vs Iout plot, please? I expect that I need to somehow turn my equation into a function (numerical vs symbolic engine).

PS: A tip what to search on the forum will do too.I am not lazy 🙂

Best Regards, Jiri

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Something like the attached perhaps.

Alan

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Something like the attached perhaps.

Alan

Alan, this is great! What is the name of the magic you did with "k"? I understand how it works but I would like to study it more.

Thank you for your help and efforts.

k is a range variable. You can find out about them in the help facilities.

Alan

LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:Jip)

The best way is to make sure that your Eff calculation is a function of Iout, then you can plot it.

Here's an example:

LM_20180803_Plot.png

Success!
Luc

Werner_E
24-Ruby V