cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Problem with matrix

ptc-4838476
1-Newbie

Problem with matrix

Hi,

I'm new with mathcad and i'm working with a simple camshaft kinematic and dinamic analysis and i'm having problems evaluating some matrix in the dinamic part.

Attatched is the file, it's in spanish and the problems appear after the "análsis dinámico" part. The problems that appear are "undefined variables" in the matrix where i define the variables i want to solve, units incongruence in some matrix, etc.

Hope you can help me.

Thanks,

Jorge

7 REPLIES 7

It seems you ran into two matrix limitations of Mathcad:

1) all Elements of a matrix must have the same unit

2) functions are not allowed as matrix elements

Both are on the wishlist of us costumers for quite some time (along with multi dimensional arrays) but obviously not on the todo-list of PTC.

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:Werner_E)

Functions are allowed as matrix elements. Even function names are allowed as matrix elements, although then there are some restrictions (it is not just that different units are not alowed in arrays, but in fact different types are not allowed, so mixing function names with other elements may not be possible).

Prime allows mixed units in arrays. So this is one of our wishes that has, finally, been fulfilled.

Richard Jackson schrieb:

Functions are allowed as matrix elements.

Yes, my fault. Thank for pointing out. What I was thinking of was that you cannot define a vector (or matrix) of functions intuitively (and/or through a program) like

21.11.1.png

but have to do it "manually"

21.11.2.png

and of course concerning the worksheet under discussion that, while you can define variables with

21.11.3.png