cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Solving ODE's in Mathcad 14

KristianR
1-Newbie

Solving ODE's in Mathcad 14

Hello everyone

I apologize if this has been posted earlier (or if this is the wrong section), but I need help with Mathcad.

Having started college as an EE major last year, and restarting next year as a math major next year, math is obviously important for me to use. Mathcad is my preferred math software due to the simplicity of the program, and because it's not a programming language. I'm a horrible programmer, and I would go to great lengths to avoid programming. Originally, I thought that Mathcad couldn't solve differential equations, but after looking through the help files, I found Odesolve and other functions. The thing is, I can't see what the function is. The only "solution" I get is a graph, which won't be accepted as a proper answer to any problem here.

So how do I get Mathcad to return a function when solving ODE's ?

PS: I'm using Mathcad 14, but will upgrade if it's the only way to make this work.

23 REPLIES 23
MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:KristianR)

Firstly welcome to the forum.

Would you be able to upload the worksheet you are working on?

Mike

Thanks

Here's an example of what I'm doing.

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member

I don't think you can solve ODE's symbolically, only numerically.

Mike

For this sort of ODE you can use Mathcad's symbolic Laplace transform functions to help get an analytical solution - see attached.

Alan

Alan;

Can you please post "Example 1b" as an RTF or pdf file? My 14.0 is choking on Step 1.

Thanks!!

Fred Kohlhepp wrote:

Alan;

Can you please post "Example 1b" as an RTF or pdf file? My 14.0 is choking on Step 1.

Thanks!!

Fred,