cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Stress Analysis of Ring Stiffeners on Cylindrical Shells

Structures_401
6-Contributor

Stress Analysis of Ring Stiffeners on Cylindrical Shells

I am making the attached Mathcad 15 worksheet (Ring q Loading - Sin-Tangential Resistance - Uniform Varying Load.xmcd) available to anyone that needs such a tool. This worksheet is one of several that analyzes a structural ring stiffener (or bulkhead) given a general radial load pattern resisted by sine-tangential forces in the adjacent shell.  This is a common structural model fully explained in Roark's "Formulas for Stress and Strain" (any edition).

Since I am new to this PTC community forum, I am using this worksheet as a test.  If this works, and/or the reports back from other members of the forum indicate an interest for other types of loading conditions, I will continue to post them.

While this problem can be modelled using Finite Element Methods, the process is labor and time intensive, and would require frequent model alterations to converge to an efficient design. Also, the proper FEM boundary conditions needed for the sine-tangential resistance are very, VERY!, tricky. As most FEM users will agree, modeling the correct boundary conditions may be the hardest part of FEM modeling.