cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Symbolic Integration

ptc-4154079
1-Newbie

Symbolic Integration

Hi all,

I've been using Mathcad for a couple of years, but I've always had difficulty learning how to do simple symbolic manipulations with Mathcad and instead used a program like Maxima (which did things beautifully). However, I like to keep my stuff in one place and thus want to learn how to do this in Mathcad.

So here is what I'm trying to do. I'm trying to use Timoshenko's beam theory to analyse a statically inderminate beam. The process is very simple. I have two coupled differential equations and I need to successively integrate to find the displacement and the rotation in the beam. However, I'm having with one of the integrals. I've double checked and I'm pretty sure the result that mathcad gives is not correct. I'm sure it is something that I've done that has screwed it up, but I just can't spot what is wrong.

I've posted the file and highlighted the problem regions.

I was also wondering if someone could point out how I could get these equations in matrix form. If you look at my problem statement, I've got two beam segments. I've defined all the properties of the segments as vectors with two elements. I was hoping that I could set up the equilibrium equations (DEs) in a way that they are also vectors (along with the integration constants) like w(x):=[ ... + C.4.1 , .... + C.4.2] .

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Ali

PS: I'm using Mathcad 15.0.0.436

15 REPLIES 15

Ali Nayeri wrote:

...I'm trying to use Timoshenko's beam theory to analyse a statically inderminate beam...

Hello!