cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Syntax Question

MrTims
4-Participant

Syntax Question

Hello All,

I am a total newbie and I am trying to read through some previous mathcad solutions and am unsure what this syntax means, does anyone have any idea? Is it saying if mod(j,2)=0 AND mod(j,4)=2,-1,1) then return 0 (screenshot 1)? I have a older version of mathcad so I am also unsure how to write this in my version (screenshot 2). I have also attached the problem document where I found this (PDF). 

Best Regards,

MrTims

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:MrTims)

@MrTims wrote:

Hello All,

I am a total newbie and I am trying to read through some previous mathcad solutions and am unsure what this syntax means, does anyone have any idea? Is it saying if mod(j,2)=0 AND mod(j,4)=2,-1,1) then return 0 (screenshot 1)? I have a older version of mathcad so I am also unsure how to write this in my version (screenshot 2). I have also attached the problem document where I found this (PDF). 

Yes, that is what the expression is doing.  

if functions take the form:

if (condition, do-if-true, do-otherwise)

What you have is an if function with another if function as the do-if-true expression.

Regarding your program - the 1 should go in the first placeholder after the if mod-4 test and an otherwise expression with -1 should go in the 2nd placeholder.  Your last line should be an otherwise to match the first if test... otherwise the program will always return 0.

if programming expressions in Mathcad 15 (or earlier down to Mathcad 7) take the form:

do-if-true if condition

for single line expressions or for multi-line expressions, as you have above,

if condition
   do-if-true