cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

This variable is undefined with ODEsolve?

cswec
1-Newbie

This variable is undefined with ODEsolve?

Hey guys,

I am a grad student that is brand new to mathcad.  I've tried looking at other solutions, but unfortunately, I just can not find what I am doing wrong.  I am looking at an example problem that was  done in class and am trying to recreate it (a pic is attached).  As far as I can tell, I have exactly the same program this far (my sheet is attached), but mine gives an error of "this variable is undefined." If someone could check it over and point out what I am doing wrong, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks,

Caitlin

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Werner_E
24-Ruby V
(To:cswec)

The problem is the prime symbol, which you have placed at the wrong position (after the argument parentheses). If you look at your expression closely, you may see a small multiplication sign, so Mathcad is multiplying the function outcome T.s(t) with the prime symbol which will not work.

You have to place the prime symbol right after the function name (before the argument parentheses). As you function name uses a literal index, the prime symbol will show up subscripted, too, which looks rather ugly

So probably its better to use the full differentiation operator as was done in the original work which you had posted a (very poor quality) picture of

You probably know that you must use the symbol from the calculus tools palette and are not allowed to just type a normal fraction.

Werner