cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

Time to fill a pressure vessel, finite difference approximation is the solution?

frederico.cms
6-Contributor

Time to fill a pressure vessel, finite difference approximation is the solution?

Hi all, first post here.

I'm trying to learn a bit more of Mathcad, instead of solving problems on several lines of Excel for a finite discretization.

The problem I’m studying is a very real and common situation of cascade gas filling.

It consists of a source (infinity size for simplicity) feeding start-empty vessel (1atm) thought a regulator valve that obey a function critical or sub-critical flow rate f(Delta P), until both source and vessel pressure are equalized. Then plotting a Pressure Vs Time for that system. The pressure would ramp up (critical flow), then level horizontal to zero flow as the pressure accumulation at the end.

Screenshot 2021-09-17 175558.png

I want to keep the math simple, in the future to add z-factor for the gas compressibility factor.

p1=pressure source

p2=pressure vessel (to be filled)

T=temp (constant)

V=vessel volume

Cg=valve flow capacity

SG=relative density

MW=gas molecular mass

ni=mole at P_tank empty (1 atm)

nf=mole at P_tank full (P_tank=P_source)

P=n*(R*T*z)/V, (R,T,z)/V = constant C1)

For each infinitesimal time step, the flow rate will drop after entering sub-critical condition, as the pressure of the tank goes up until, it equalizes with 0 flow.

1) Flow rate (Qmol) is a function of p2.

2) p2 is a function of moles accumulated at the tank due to flow rate at a time interval.