cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Trying to find partial pressure using partition functions

msu12181
1-Newbie

Trying to find partial pressure using partition functions

Hi everyone,

I am new to the Mathad world when it comes to the nonlinear solvers for system of equations. I would appreciate any help that I can get

I am trying to find partial pressures for an equilibrium equation of state model. I am running into trouble as to how I can get each of the partial pressures as a function of my temperature. I am attaching the Mathcad file so that you can see what I mean. I have doubled check my stuff but I am unsure of how to proceed. It keeps saying that "initial guess must consist of numbers and matrices".

Anybody care to get me out of my mess I have created?

Thanks,

Addison

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:msu12181)

You can't take the derivative w.r.t. T because it's not a function of T. To make it a function of T also requires some changes earlier in the worksheet. See the highlighted regions.

As an aside, if you have to multiply by m^3 to be able t take the log, that might indicate a problem. It depends on where the formula comes from. If it is an empirical formula, this can happen. If it is a formula derived from the physics, it will never happen. If it's derived from the physics and the log of the quantity has any physical meaning then the quantity must be dimensionless to begin with.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

The attached might help a little, but doesn't solve all your problems!

Alan

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite

You need to turn the solve block into a function.