cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Undefined variable in Mathcad ODE solve block

ptc-5376358
1-Newbie

Undefined variable in Mathcad ODE solve block

Hey guys, I am a Chemical Engineering Grad Student taking a programming class, which has never been one of my strongest subjects.

I am currently trying to solve a system of differential equations governing an emergency shut down in a water reservoir system using the ODE Solve Block in Mathcad and I am trying to monitor the affect of the diameter of my tank (Di) from 5ft to 10ft, and the value of the downstream head (hstar) from 0 to hstart in the program attached. However, I keep getting that my variable Di is undefined since it is what I am inputing into the builtin Odesolve function. If I define Di as having units of ft, the Odesolve function tells me I have too many initial conditions.

Please help me figure out how to have Di as a changing input variable while having it defined in the preliminary equations!!!!

Thank you!

Emilia

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Units aren't such a problem here as the ODEs are formulated in such a way that the dimensions cancel out. The real problem is that in the equation for eta there is an eta under the square root sign that should be eta(tau). See attached.

Alan

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Make Qv0 a function of Di (Qv0(Di):=...) and hstart as well, that way hstart(Di):=.....Qv0(Di)^2/...

You would call the block with Soln(5ft,hstart(5ft)). Better just with Soln(5ft) and replace hstar by hstart(Di) inside the block.

But it still will not work because the really bad news are that solving differential equations does not work with units in Mathcad 15 and below. So try it without units please.