cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Units in Drag Force Equation - (Gravitational Constant)

MR_9331106
4-Participant

Units in Drag Force Equation - (Gravitational Constant)

Hi All,

I'm just starting out using Mathcad Prime 6.0, and I'm trying to solve a very simple equation for the drag force on our machine when submerged in a flowing river. I am using the USCS Unit system, and I believe my confusion centers around English units of mass (slug) and how to keep units consistent. 

Example 1: I use 1.94 slug/ft^3 for the density of water. This gives me output units of lbf, which are correct, but they are off by a factor of gravity - 30.046 lbf should be a little over 961 lbf.

Example 1.PNG

Example 2: I use 62.4 lbf/ft^3 for the specific weight of water. Now numerically I'm correct but the units have the extra factor of "ft/s^2".

Example 2.PNG

I'm hoping someone might be able to help me obtain the both the correct numeric value of 966.42, with units of lbf.

Thank You for Your Consideration,

Mitch

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I don't think that @MR_9331106  confused density and specific weight.
He knew that in his formula density is required and used it correctly. But for some reason he thought that the result would not be correct, because he expected a different and much higher result. He still has not answered my question as to why he expects that (in my opinion much too large) result.

That he used lbf instead of mass in his second approach was only done to get a result which he thinks is numerical correct, but of course you won't get force that way. He thought that the difference could be caused by a factor similar to the value of g.

Another explanation while we wait for his answer could be this