cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

User error or glitch? "variable undefined" Mathcad 15

RyanFehr
1-Newbie

User error or glitch? "variable undefined" Mathcad 15

I've been using Mathcad for a couple years now and I think I have a pretty firm grasp on the in's and out's of the program, but I've always found little things that just seem to happen at random and seem to be a glitch or something. One such problem is when I copy and paste formulas from one sheet to another. The definitions sometimes are no longer recognized. And for the life of me, I cannot get Mathcad to recognize them again. Below is an example of this. This is an assignment I am working on for a class. The first part is a calculation of section properties of a channel. Everything from "Vx:" down is copy&paste'd from a previous assignment for calculating shear flow and shear center in channels. The formulas now no longer recognize the "xbar" definition. Can someone help me out with this problem? Thanks.

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/29/mathcad.png/][IMG]http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/2860/mathcad.png[/IMG][/URL]

Uploaded with [URL=http://imageshack.us]ImageShack.us[/URL]

9 REPLIES 9

Ah, I figured it out. I guess I need to call xbar as well as any other variable I use that's defined by a formula, regardless of whether the it's in symbolic form or not. I was under the impression that I only needed to call variables that were still in symbolic form. Guess I'm still learning.

nevermind, thats just leaves it in symbolic form and useless to me.

BTW, I tried manually retyping the formula...that doesn't solve the problem.

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:RyanFehr)