cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Using WRITEEXCEL to export a function

JB_9974851
4-Participant

Using WRITEEXCEL to export a function

Hello

I'm new to Mathcad and have just taken over a file from someone at work. It runs fine but I am stuck manually copy pasting the results into an excel sheet. I want to automate the process and have tried using the WRITEEXCEL function but I can't seem to get it to work. See attached photo.

I believe it has something to do with the function qp(z) not being a matrix or array but I'm not sure. I've also tried defining M:=qp(z) and using M in the WRITEEXCEL function but that gave me a "variable is not defined error".

Writeexcel test.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:JB_9974851)

It's not possible to divide a unit out of a range variable:

LucMeekes_0-1627415852552.png

Note that range variables are (should be) used only for:

- creating a range for plotting a function

- indexing an array (vector or matrix).

- iterations (as part of a 'for' loop in a program, or using the range on worksheet level).

Nothing else.

We'll use the last option here.

Create a range variable i, and use that to (iteratively) create a vector result of your function:

LucMeekes_0-1627416952868.png

Note that I (deliberately) created the vector as a literally subscripted variable Fp (I typed

F.p

to get that), then added an index to it by appending:

[ORIGIN

This to show you once more the difference between a literal subscript and an index...

Anyway, now you have a vector result, but it still has a unit, and you cannot export units to Excel, so you'll have to divide that out. With an array that is possible, and it can be done as:

LucMeekes_2-1627416702933.png