cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

VB help!!

ptc-5654448
1-Newbie

VB help!!

Hi,

I'm a newbie here so please bear with me as I'm sure someone has already covered this topic but I can't find a thread anywhere.

In a nutshell, I want to get make a textbox to change colour dependent on what answer displayed in the box.

I've just completed the MathCAD 15 course and the instructor showed an example of this working, so I asked him how to do it. He told me it was al to do with the VB script running behind the text box and sent me the script.

When I tried to insert this into my own text box script it wouldn't work.

Adding it is not a problem (copy and paste) but the problem I’m having is trying to get the script to refer to the output of a previous calculation. I don’t quite understand how VB scripts work so I’m a bit lost as to where to add my references.

This is what I’ve tried so far….

insert+script.jpg

…but when I come out of the script, I get this message…

error.jpg

…I’m at a bit of a loss.

Can anyone suggest anything? Or is there any possibility that someone could show a simple example of how to write this script properly please?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

9 REPLIES 9

Hello Hong Thoi,

within the VB Script Editor remove the quotation marks so that it reads

If utilisation.Value < 1 Then

instead of

If utilisation.Value "<1" Then

You've compared string with integer and VB doesn't like that.

Raiko

Hi Reiko,

Thanks for your reply.

I tried removing the quotation marks as you suggested like this...

insert+script+2.JPG

... but got a different error message instead...

error+2.JPG

any ideas? (sorry about my lack of VB knowledge, I thought this would be quite a simply script for me to start on...)