cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

Vector calculations

Blubblub
3-Visitor

Vector calculations

I'm seminew to Mathcad, and I know my question is fairly basic, however, I was not able to find the answer either through google nor through clicking around in the PTC online manual.

This is my first attempt at making vectorized calculations, however, I keep failing doing them. The program simply shuts me down by giving me the error message that I must use a matrix or a scalar.

The equation I try to do is fairly straightforward:

1) Define a vector with a range x:=1..5

2) Implement an equation H*sin(x/L*pi)

everything works swell, until I try to save that value, simply by putting something in front of it.

Let's say: y:=H*sin(x/L*pi)

At this point it suddenly decides to tell me no, it must be a scalar, I'm not allowed to do this.

What's the reason? How do I get around it?

Second question: Is it possible to have a simple index system such as x(1), rather than x_1? I haven't figured the indexing system at all, btw. Everytime I try to call any of the vector values, I fail. I can work on the vector, as long as I don't try to save it as another variable, and I cannot call any values from it.

Best regards, thanks in advance for some help, and sorry for me asking such basic questions. Yet again, I did an honest attempt to find the answer elsewhere so to not spam and waste your time.

EDIT: I just wanted to thank all of you who helped me out. As you all stated correctly, range isn't the same as a vector. I didn't know that, especially since it becomes one once you press the "=" sign, so it's displayed as one.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

Calculation without errors see enclosed file.

Cheers

Terry