Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When MathCad Prime 6?

SOLVED

Re: When MathCad Prime 6?

Hi Fred,

You may want to have a look at this: http://comppad.sourceforge.net/

Anyway, I'm leaning towards making a script (with a GUI) which would generate the final document (the Scilab approach), rather than making a live document (the Mathcad approach) due to inherent limitations of the latter philosophy (no behind-the-scenes operations). It's easier to make your first steps in Mathcad, but then it leads you where it wants, not where you want to go :-)

Highlighted

What are your impressions of comppad? Have you tried it yet? I'm a re-entry engineering student in my 30's just surveying the various software offerings. I usually use MATLAB and Mathcad Prime and just copy paste into my documents. 

Thank you for your time... 

Hello Hum,

bluntly said: I'm not impressed. I'm using MathCad precisely because it is written in natural mathematical notation and not some code as in Excel or Matlab. easily understood by anyone who is not Mathcad savy.

Raiko

It looks like the roadmap for Prime ends at 5.0

https://community.ptc.com/t5/PTC-Mathcad/PTC-Mathcad-Prime-Roadmap-2015-2016-update/td-p/446448

I think the naming convention for Prime might have changed also because now it is explicitly 5.0.0.0 indicating to me that they are only going to be doing the most minimal of chipping away at the software for a very long time! 

As evident by the lingering disparity in functionality between Mathcad 15 and Prime, PTC is not really trying to supersede any previous rendition of engineering calculation software's functionality but instead just make it look like they are, perhaps to investors, via incrementing version numbers and look. I fully expect a third Mathcad product to succeed both 15 and Prime, likely an online version, starting over at square one again, before Prime matches 15... 

Mark my words...