cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

polar to rectangular conversion in mathcad PRIME?

KarlBogha
12-Amethyst

polar to rectangular conversion in mathcad PRIME?

HELLO ALL, I AM SHOCKED THAT PRIME 2.0 DOES NOT HAVE A POLAR TO RECTANGULAR CONVERSION, BOTH WAYS.

I HAD TIRED TO FIND A WAY OR A FUNCTION, TRIED THE DISCUSSIONS COULD NOT FIND A SOLUTION.

MY HP ENGINEERING CALCULATOR DOES CONVERSIONS FROM POLAR TORECT, AND RECT TO POLAR.

i DONT KNOW WHY THIS WAS NOT ADDRESSED BY MATHCAD.

ANYONE HAS A METHOD OF DOING THIS? THANKS.

I AM NEW IN MATHCAD AND STARTED WITH PRIME.

ITS OF NO USE IF I HAVE TO RESORT TO A CALCULATOR.

I READ A NUMBER OF POSTS GOING BACK A FEW YEARS YET NO SOLUTION. STRANGE. MAYBE INDUSTRY HAS A DEAL ON WHO CAN AND CANNOT HAVE THE CONVERSION. MEANT PRIMARILY FOR ELECT. ENG. HOPE I GET HELP ON THIS ASAP.

THANKS.

N/A.
12 REPLIES 12

Hi,

What conversion functions do you need, most should be available through the standard operators & functions.

Regards

Andy

No need to shout (uppercase)!

Whats the problem - you have a square root, a multiplication, a square, function atan2() and sin() and cos().

Whats the problem in creating the functions you are missing.

Her are two ways to do so. I chose single values as input and a column vector as output.

polrec.png

KarlBogha
12-Amethyst
(To:Werner_E)

Werner the reply you provided was helpful but it does not do the job!

I need Prime to have a function like cos(x), so that i can use it anywhere in the calculation steps.

The method you provided is helpful but is not workable on calculation sheets where we apply rect to polar, then polar to rect, and it goes on till the calcs are completed.