cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

polynomial with multiple solutions

ptc-5385199
1-Newbie

polynomial with multiple solutions

Hi, I am quite new to mathcad and need help with the following problem:

a*u+b*v-c*w+d*uv = y

a=1.4

b=0.3

c=0.5

d=0.2

u, v, w are variables that fulfill some constraints:

0.2<u<0.8

0.1<v<0.5

0<w<0.7

and

u+v+w=1

and

u, v, w can only have values like u = 0.2, 0.3, 0.4, ... but not 0.25 or 0.21. (I am sure there is a mathematical term for numbers as such, sorry)

Now, I want mathcad to give me all possible solutions (all different compositions of u, v, w) that fulfill y > 2.

Thanks for any help.

Max

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Here you are, but with more variables and maybe a wider range a brute force approach can be a problem - at least with respect to calculation time.

As you didn't specify the datastructure of your results I chose a nested vector. Each vector element is a 1x3 matrix consisting of the three values for u, v and w.

BTW, the testproblem you had set up has no solution as you can see here:

polynomial brute force.png

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

d*uv should be d*u*v ???

yes, not a differentiation

ehh, deduction

Max Muehle wrote:

ehh, deduction

derivative, derivation

(Differential, Ableitung)

Do you have three different values for v as you wrote (0.1<v<0.5) are do you mean 0.1<=v<=0.5 ?

🙂 derivative, ok.

no, not three different values, but five:

v= 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4, 0.5

u has six values:

u= 0.2, 0.3, 0.4, 0.5, 0.6, 0.7, 0.8

and w has seven values.

so, yes:

0.1<=v<=0.5

but with the constraint that it can only be a full decimal

So you should have written <= instead of <.

What version of Mathcad are you using. What have you tried so far?