cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

solve 8 equations with 8 unknowns

mbadawy
1-Newbie

solve 8 equations with 8 unknowns

Hello, i'm new in using Mathcad, i just need to solve 8 equations with 8 unknowns(sound simple),but i don't know the right syntax to get the output, i tried several ones that i found in the help and tutorial but none is working, some syntax gives me my initial guess as the output and other syntax does nothing.

still the problem isn't only the syntax, i have no clue what should be the initial guess the solution is either very large or very small ( Pico or Giga maybe larger or smaller even), so is Mathcad able to solve such thing?

below is the attached worksheet. Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:mbadawy)

O...K...

suppose your 6 resistors are equal. Then following the second equation, the reciprocal of their product must be approximately 10^72; that is, each of them should be about 10^-12 Ohm, that is pico-Ohm range.

Does that seem like a reasonable solution to you?

There is one error in your syntax: you use a boolean equals (shows as a boldface "=") in the Find() statement, where you should use an evaluation equals (shows as a regular "=").

The problem is not solvable, as you found out in Mathcad 15 and Prime. I tried a symbolic approach in Mathcad 11, with no solution found.

And I still question your equations because, even if they're a simplification, I think they should still make sense.

Finally: this does not look like a filter, because it lacks the frequency-dependent part. For a filter I would expect to see capacitors,

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III