cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

some questions of optimization with minimize

赵亚军
1-Newbie

some questions of optimization with minimize

hi,everyone,i am a chinese,and my english is not good,this is my first time to communicate with others in english,i hope you can understand what I mean.

i have discused these questions on other branch,but still can't solve them,so i put it here for more help,the link address of the previous discussion

http://communities.ptc.com/thread/37201?tstart=0

Now,i have a lot of problems in my work.i want to fit the experimental data using the mathcad built-in function Minimize(also,i tried Minerr).the function is known,there are 56 parameters in this function,i want to find them by making the objective function to be minimized.but when i run it,it takes a long time;also,when i change the guess value from 100 to 0,the result change as well.

So,my problems are:

1,how to reduce the time(do not change TOL or CTOL)?

2,the result must be Local optimum,and how can i find global optimum?

3,the mathcad built-in function(minimize or minerr),can i see how it works,or the inside result?(i know the trace function,but it traces the independent variables(x,y) if i want to trace f(x,y),how to do that? i konw a stupid way,copy the independent variables(x,y),and then calculate f(x,y),but in my worksheet,the

independent variable is a matrix{9,9},it's too complex.are there any other functions that can trace f(x,y)?

thanks for your help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:赵亚军)

They may finish faster, but the sum of the squared residuals is bigger, so they didn't converge properly