cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Extruded profiles best practices?

Cygnus_A
4-Participant

Extruded profiles best practices?

I am looking to make a large structure from 80/20 extrusions. What is the best way to manage the various lengths of components? Ideally I would like 1 flexible part with the profile where I can drop it in to the assembly and set the length on the fly. I believe this will cause a problem when it comes time to produce a drawing BOM. I need the BOM to generate unique part numbers and descriptions, and I am not sure I can do that with this method or with family tables. 

I am extremely new to family tables in Creo. My background is in Catia and Solidowrks. 

Example BOM would be:

# QTY PART # DESCRIPTION
1 20 PROFILE_A-24 80/20 PROFILE A, 24 INCH LENGTH
2 6 PROFILE_A-48 80/20 PROFILE A, 48 INCH LENGTH
3 18 PROFILE_B-12 80/20 PROFILE B, 12 INCH LENGTH

What is the best approach here?

6 REPLIES 6
Chris3
20-Turquoise
(To:Cygnus_A)

Are you going to be working with a value added re-seller or distributor?

Most companies don't work directly with 80/20. In our case we just send a STP file to our re-seller and then they create the BOM in their system using our profile types and lengths.

If you don't want to do that then you will need to create parameters which you can pull into your repeat region to create a BOM in the format you are looking for. You could do family tables, but since the cross section geometry is fixed and the only thing you can vary is the length its probably easier to create a template part and then just duplicate that part (save as) every time you want a new one.